The City announced that owing to uncertainties brought about by the health crisis, the public authorities have been forced to relinquish the NEO2 contract.

NEO scrl was established to bolster the international positioning of Brussels in the MICE sector. It was accordingly commissioned by the City and the Region to set up a new convention centre on the Heysel Plateau so as to enable Brussels to assume its vocation and international reach. It should in fact be borne in mind that Brussels is Europe’s and the world’s number one and number two congress city respectively. MICE is one of the most strategic economic sectors in the Brussels Region and accounts for 20,000 jobs. The International Development Plan (IDP) charted the ambition of the Brussels Region in the MICE sector as early as 2007.

On Friday, 16 October 2020, the City announced through the press that owing to uncertainties brought about by the health crisis, the public authorities had been forced to relinquish the NEO2 contract for the construction of a convention centre and a hotel in the immediate vicinity of Brussels Expo. 

In point of fact, neither the hotel nor the convention centre could be adapted to the future needs of the MICE sector, which has been heavily and structurally affected by the health crisis. It would not have been possible for the public authorities to alter the project radically given the public procurement rules. Moreover, it would have been unreasonable to build a project of such scope and quality that would wind up being insufficiently used in the current situation. This project would have been unproductive not only for the public authorities but also for the private developers who had undertaken to operate a 250-room hotel on the site.

The fact remains nonetheless that MICE is still a critical sector for Brussels; that Heysel continues to be an attractive site from which all future thinking about MICE in Brussels will be articulated; and , with all the necessary resources to implement the MICE ambitions of Brussels, NEO scrl remains the preferred natural counterpart of the public authorities in this respect.

In any event, NEO scrl continues to work actively on implementing the other components of the investment programme aimed at redesigning the Heysel plateau. For example, work on the road linking Car Park C to the front of the halls and the extension of the Verregat park is continuing, the building permit for a new sports facility was granted recently, while the steps taken by the developer URW (whose project will create some 3,000 jobs and generate significant tax revenues for the public authorities) are continuing apace.

La Ville a annoncé qu’en raison des incertitudes liées à la crise sanitaire, les pouvoirs publics ont dû se résoudre à renoncer au marché NEO2.

La scrl NEO a été créée pour renforcer le positionnement international de Bruxelles dans le secteur MICE. C’est à ce titre qu’elle a été mandatée par la Ville et la Région pour qu’un nouveau centre de convention soit érigé sur le plateau du Heysel en vue de permettre à Bruxelles d’assumer pleinement sa vocation et son rayonnement international. En effet, rappelons que Bruxelles figure à la deuxième place mondiale et à la première place européenne comme ville de congrès. Le secteur MICE est un des secteurs économiques les plus stratégiques de la Région bruxelloise et 20 000 emplois en dépendent. Dès 2007, le PDI (Plan Développement International) fixait l’ambition de la Région bruxelloise dans le secteur MICE.

Le vendredi 16 octobre 2020, la Ville a annoncé par voie de presse qu’en raison des incertitudes liées à la crise sanitaire les pouvoirs publics avaient dû se résoudre à renoncer au marché NEO2 qui portait sur la construction d’un  centre de conventions et d’un hôtel à ériger dans l’immédiate proximité de Brussels Expo.

En effet, ni l’hôtel ni le centre de conventions ne pouvaient être adaptés aux futurs besoins du secteur MICE lourdement et structurellement impacté par la crise sanitaire. Il était impossible aux pouvoirs publics de modifier profondément le projet eu égard aux règles des marchés publics; et il eut été déraisonnable de construire un projet d’une telle ambition et d’une telle qualité qui soit insuffisamment utilisé dans le contexte actuel. Ce projet aurait été non seulement improductif pour les pouvoirs publics mais aussi pour les développeurs privés qui se sont engagés à exploiter un hôtel de 250 chambres sur le site.

Il n’en demeure pas moins que le secteur MICE reste déterminant pour Bruxelles, que le Heysel demeure un site attractif au départ duquel toute future réflexion MICE de Bruxelles sera articulée. La scrl NEO,  dotée de toutes les ressources nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des ambitions MICE de Bruxelles, demeure l’interlocuteur naturel privilégié des pouvoirs publics à cet égard. 

En toutes hypothèses, la scrl NEO continue à travailler activement à la mise en œuvre des autres composantes du programme d’investissement destiné à redessiner le plateau du Heysel. A titre d’exemple, les travaux relatifs à la voie de liaison reliant le parking C à l’avant des palais et à l’agrandissement du parc du Verregat se poursuivent, le permis relatif à la construction d’un nouveau parc des sports a récemment été octroyé, tandis que les démarches du développeur URW – dont le projet va créer environ 3.000 emplois et générer des recettes fiscales importantes pour les pouvoirs publics se poursuivent à un rythme soutenu.